Skip to main content
What's on

The John Ruskin Prize exhibition

01 February 2024 - 17 February 2024

Mondays- Fridays 11:00 - 16:00
Thursdays 11:00 - 18:00
Weekend 10:00 - 16:00

Venue: The Buoy Store, Trinity Buoy Wharf

Free entry

Learn more

The John Ruskin Prize is a multidisciplinary art prize founded on the ideas of the radical 19th-century polymath John Ruskin, with a reputation for supporting and promoting artists, designers, and makers whose work defies easy categorisation.

This year marks the sixth edition, and it is accessible to all artists, designers, and craftsmen of all nations, aged 18 and up. The shortlist exhibition will be exhibited at Trinity Buoy Wharf from 1 to 17 February 2024 and is free and open to all. Winners will be announced at a Private View on Wednesday 31 January.

Shortlisted artists

Selected from over 4000 entries, the final shortlist of 78 pieces from 68 artists, makers and innovators have been given a platform for the unseen to be seen and the unspoken to be heard. The shortlist of The 6th John Ruskin Prize, which called for artists to explore the theme, ‘Seeing the Unseen, Hearing the Unspoken’ has attracted a record number of submissions from fine artists, makers and craftspeople from across the globe.

The shortlisted artists are:

Graham Short, Claudia Barreira, Nick Grellier, Keith Ashcroft, Fiona Hodges, Elmira Zohrehnejad, Pascal Miehe, Blythe Plenderleith, Belinda Ellis, Sally Muir, Lorsen Camps, Jared Barbick, William Bacon, Helen Restorick, Linda Hubbard, Julie Graves, Matt Lee, Abby Cocovini, Isobel Scarsbrook, Thomas Cameron, Muhammad Hossain, Olana Light, Anna Larin, Scott Kelly, Francesca Alaimo, Max Bainbridge, Alyson J Barton, Katy Shepherd,, Patricia Townsend, Simone Guideri, Rhys Thorpe, Trudie Shutler, Lucy Stopford, Ruth Swain, Sally Hewett, Wyatt Carson, Kirsty Bogle, Maayan Sophia Weisstub, Alan Fortescue, Julia Polonski, David Aston, Helen Restorick, Zoja Kalinovskis, Olga Kataeva- Rochford, Eithne Healy, Frances Gynn, Emily Lucas, Blair Cahill, Lydia Adams, Donna Fleming, Duncan Cameron, Julie Barnes, Eddy Greenwood, Sally Baldwin, Antoni Kuźniarz, Caroline Burraway, Kerry Collison, Dorcas Casey, Kate Mcdonnell, Fiona Hodges, Pinkie Maclure, Zac Weinberg, Francesca Centioni, Chris Alton, Hanfei Dyson, Daniel Hosego, Curtis Holder, Sarah Gillespie And Elias Mendel.

Selection panel

The members of The 6th John Ruskin Prize selection panel are: Narinder Sagoo MBE, Cornelia Parker CBE RA, Bob and Roberta Smith RA, Gary Hill, Dr Rachel Dickinson, Julian Stair and Jane Barnes.

More like this