Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize 2019: Shortlist Announced

29 July 2019

The Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize is the longest-running and foremost annual open exhibition for drawing in the UK. Selected from original drawings, the exhibition has established a reputation for its commitment to championing excellence as well as promoting and celebrating contemporary drawing practice. The Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize 2019 exhibition includes a diverse selection of work that explores the nature, role and value of drawing in creative practice today. The shortlist of 67 drawings by 62 practitioners  - including works by students to those by established artists and makers - were selected from 1,801 submissions received from across the UK. The independent selection panel comprised Chantal Joffe RA, artist; Andrew Nairne OBE, Director of Kettle’s Yard, University of Cambridge; and Dorothy Price, Professor of History of Art at the University of Bristol and Editor of Art History.

The drawings shortlisted for the Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize 2019 exhibition and awards are by the following artists and makers:

Rachel Ara / Naomi Avsec / Jeanette Barnes / Philip Battley / Jonathan Bennett / Jackie Berridge / Kate Black / Kurt Buckley / Roma Bullen / Martyn Burdon / James Byrne / Lewis Chamberlain / Michael Doherty / Aisha Farr / Joana Galego / Frances Gynn / Susie Hamilton / Oona Hassim / Clare Haxby / Mary Herbert / Laura Hudson / Mandy Hudson / Nimmi Hutnik / Neville Jermyn / Hero Johnson / Melissa Kime / Marcus Leotaud / Michael Paul Lewis / Richard Lewsey / Andrew Litten / Eugene Macki / Derek Marks / Miguel Martin / Zara Matthews / Penny McCarthy / Patrick Miller / Tamsin Morse Commins / Alice Motte-Muñoz / Elizabeth Nast / Steve Payne / Julia Polonski / Caroline Pool / Fiona G Roberts / Katya Robin / Karin Schösser / Molley Scoble / Mark Shields  / Nicholas Simms / Clare Smith / Paul John Taylor / Sally Taylor / Patricia Thornton / Alberto Torres Hernandez / Shelly Tregoning / Mariota Spens / Jaime Valtierra Sanchez / Henry Ward / Steven Ward / Charmaine Watkiss / Jessica Wolfson / Hannah Wooll / William Wright

"Being a selector was an exacting and exciting task! Over two days we considered every possible form of drawing - from pencil to paint to video. The range, number and quality of submissions surely reflects both the health of drawing now in the UK and its importance as a means of artistic expression.

Those we selected for the exhibition were, we believe, the most distinctive and original submissions. But it was not an easy task! Some of the works that we chose clearly took many hours and remarkable technical skill to create, while others felt like more immediate actions, capturing through drawing energy, movement or character."  Andrew Nairne OBE, Director of Kettle’s Yard, University of Cambridge

Supported by the Trinity Buoy Wharf Trust, the Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize is a unique initiative led by founding Director, Professor Anita Taylor. Founded in 1994, and known as Jerwood Drawing Prize from 2001-2017, the exhibition has built a reputation as the most pre-eminent open exhibition dedicated to drawing in the UK, known for its role in offering emerging, mid-career and established artists a national platform to present their drawing practice, as well as promoting the role and value of drawing more widely. 

The shortlisted artists are eligible for awards that have a total value of £27,000: a First Prize of £8,000; a Second Prize of £5,000; a Student Award of £2,000; and a Working Drawing Prize that has increased in value to £2,000 this year. The latter will be chosen by two additional selectors with specialist knowledge in the field: Alan Baxter, Founder and Director of Alan Baxter Integrated Design, and Angela Paola Squassina, architect and Professor of Architectural Preservation at the IUAV University of Architecture in Venice. Shortlisted artists will also be eligible to apply for the biennial Evelyn Williams Drawing Award of £10,000, which will offer a mid-career artist the opportunity to develop a solo exhibition for Hastings Contemporary. The Award Winners will be announced at the Awards Ceremony at 7pm on Wednesday 25 September 2019 at Trinity Buoy Wharf in London.
Following the Exhibition Preview and Awards Ceremony at Trinity Buoy Wharf, the exhibition will be presented at Salisbury Museum in Wiltshire from 12 October 2019 to 11 January 2020. Subsequently, it will return to Trinity Buoy Wharf in London where it will be available to view from January 2020. The exhibition will then tour to The Gallery at De Montfort University in Leicester.

Exhibition Preview & Awards Announced: 6pm-8:30pm on 25 September at Trinity Buoy Wharf, London

Image: Andrew Litten, About To Say Something (2019)


Mailing list

Keep up to date with our open weekends, exhibitions, lettings or performances.

Area of interest: