SS Robin to move close to the site she was built in 1890

26 January 2017

Subject to planning, SS Robin, the world’s oldest complete steam coaster and the last of her type in the world, will be moved to a site that is just 150m from where she was built in 1890. 

Eric Reynolds, the new Chairman of the SS Robin Trust and founding director of Urban Space Management, said:

"The history of maritime, ship building and dock based trade on the Thames around the mouth of the River Lea though of great importance to London has largely disappeared from sight.  However, the collection of the SS Robin, and the tugs Knocker White and Varlet and lighter Diana will form the basis of an open air museum to help bring to life the rich heritage of the area from East India Dock Basin to Trinity Buoy Wharf. A planning application is about to be lodged with Tower Hamlets Council, subject to the outcome of the application, it is hoped to place  SS Robin on shore at East India Dock Basin.  The chosen site is only 150m from where she was built over a hundred years ago.  By being displayed ashore visitors will  be able to appreciate the fine shape of the hull and access to the ship will be possible for the less able."

Click here for more information about SS Robin.

Categories

Mailing list

Keep up to date with our open weekends, exhibitions, lettings or performances.

Area of interest:

Privacy
Policy